Skip to main content

ESGR in the News


SHOREVIEW, Minn. – Terry Quigley, a respected Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve leader was honored by the Shoreview community with a memorial bench placed at city hall in his memory. 

The Bench was donated by the City of Shoreview.  Terry's family was presented with the ESGR Twice the Citizen Award authorized by Ronald E. Bogle, National Chair Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve, for Terry's years of dedicated service to Minnesota's Guard and Reserve military community.

There are legends in every organization that one hopes never to read their name in the obituaries.  Terry Quigley is such a man.

Terry Quigley served as fourth ESGR Minnesota State Chair from 1995 to 2001. He took over from Dr. Stanley Sahlstrom and handed the reins to Denny Sulstad. He was a long time contributor to the ESGR organization serving 32 years. Terry was presented the ESGR Lifetime Achievement Award and many other recognitions including Minnesota ESGR Ombudsman of the Year. He also helped numerous soldiers and companies navigate the challenges of USERRA as an ombudsman.

Minnesota ESGR will miss the likes of Terry Quigley. He is always going to be among the best volunteers.

We Serve Minnesota sent flowers and a donation to the charity of Terry's family’s choice.

ESGR is a Department of Defense office which seeks to foster a culture in which all employers support and value the employment and military service of members of the National Guard and Reserve in the United States. For more information about ESGR outreach programs or volunteer opportunities, call (800) 336-4590 or visit

Present for the bench dedication were his son and daughter (his wife could not attend), members of the Shoreview City Council, members of the Shoreview Community Center, friends of the family, and members of ESGR: Bruce Cherney, David Bambenek, Bill Obedoza, and Jack Grams.

Photo 1: Terry Quigley

Photo 2 left to right: Dave Bambenek, Steve Quigley, Kate Quigley Kresmeier, Jack Grams and Bill Obedoza.



Posted in: Minnesota
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |