Contact Information

Schwarm, Kenneth Volunteer Support Technician BLDG 3
Camp Murray WA

Moynahan, Marie Program Support Specialist Building 6224



Leader 4 Column

Committee Leadership

Mr. John Patterson State Chair Mr. Jon Ison            West Central Chair
Mr. Phil Sanders State Vice Chair VACANT West Central Co-Chair
Mr. Ty Corbett East Area Chair Mr. Burt Backman Awards Director
Ms. Judy West East Central Co-Chair Mr. Paul Frost Employer Outreach Director
Mr. James "Jim" Rabideau East Central Co-Chair Mr. Ohad Lowy Military Outreach Director
Mr. Phil Sanders King County Chair Mr. Gerald Caldwell Ombudsman Director
Mr. John Natterstad North Area Chair Mr. Larry Kirchner Asst. Ombudsman Director
Mr. Art McCallum South Chair Mr. Ohad Lowy Public Affairs Director
Ms. Jennifer Hibbs South Co-Chair Ms. Susan "Susie" Coulter Training Director
Mr. Wayne Hilton South Sound Co-Chair                        
Ms. Susan "Susie" Coulter South Sound Co-Chair    


ESGR, a Department of Defense office, is comprised of dedicated and trained volunteers and staff. We will develop and promote employer support for Guard and Reserve service by advocating relevant initiatives, recognizing outstanding support, increasing awareness of applicable laws, and resolving conflict between employers and Service members.

ESGR informs and educates Service members and their civilian employers regarding their rights and responsibilities governed by the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 (USERRA). ESGR does not have statutory authority to enforce, but serves as a neutral, free resource to employers and service members. ESGR’s trained ombudsmen provide mediation of issues relating to compliance with USERRA.


Follow Washington at ..


See All
January 08, 2020In Memoriam – Russell Summerlin – Alabama State Chair Emeritus

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – The Alabama Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR) announces the passing of its former state chair, retired U.S. Army Brig. Gen. Russell Summerlin Jan. 5. Summerlin served as the Alabama State Chair from 2006 through 2011 and was also a member of several committees and what's now known as the  Board of Directors.

Learn More.
December 31, 2019JBLM Morale Welfare and Recreation supervisor receives Department of Defense Patriot Award
JOINT BASE LEWIS-MCCHORD, Wash. - A large civilian workforce of nearly 15,000 workers are employed at Joint Base Lewis-McChord (JBLM) to support approximately 40,000 service members and their families, and nearly 30,000 military retirees who live within 50 miles of JBLM. Learn More.
December 30, 2019Celeris System supervisor receives Department of Defense Patriot Award

KEYPORT, Wash. – Cindy Troyer, program manager at Celeris System, Inc., was presented with a Patriot Award Dec. 11, by Wayne Hilton, south sound area chair for the Washington Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve Committee, and Mary Miller, Washington ESGR employer outreach representative, in recognition of extraordinary support of his employees serving in the Guard and Reserve.

Learn More.