Skip to main content


Committee Leadership

Mr. Tom Krahenbuhl State Chair
Mr. Will Johnson State Vice Chair
Mr. Tracy Beckette State Chair Emeritus
Mr. Lee Metcalf State Chair Emeritus
Ms. Michelle Carlson Employer Outreach Director
Mr. John Hathcock Military Outreach Director
Mr. Keith Crumley Assistant Military Outreach Director
Mr. James Breckinridge Public Affairs Director
Dr. Joe King Training Director
Ms. Samona Kosfeld Ombudsman Director
Vacant Assistant Ombudsman Director
Mr. Samona Kosfeld Awards Dirctor
Mr. Sam Bushman Bosslift Coordinator
Vacant Volunteer Coordinator
Mr. Ben Brink Area 1 Chair
Mr. Michael Woods Area 2 Chair
Mr. James Breckinridge Area 3 Chair
Mr. Steve Vanderhoof Area 4 Chair
Mr. Sam Bushman Area 5 Chair
Ms. Jessica Miller Area 6 Chair
Mr. George Bukaty Area 7 Chair
Mr. Truman Hardy Area 8 Chair
Vacant Area 9 Chair


ESGR, a Department of Defense office, is comprised of dedicated and trained volunteers and staff. We will develop and promote employer support for Guard and Reserve service by advocating relevant initiatives, recognizing outstanding support, increasing awareness of applicable laws, and resolving conflict between employers and service members.

ESGR informs and educates service members and their civilian employers regarding their rights and responsibilities governed by the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 (USERRA). ESGR does not have statutory authority to enforce, but serves as a neutral, free resource to employers and service members. ESGR’s trained ombudsmen provide mediation of issues relating to compliance with USERRA.

Contact Information

Justin Bowden Volunteer Support Technician Contractor 2302 Militia Drive
Jefferson City MO 65101


See All
July 12, 2024ESGR Announces 2024 Secretary of Defense Freedom Award Recipients

Fifteen Exceptional Employers Recognized for Top Honor

WASHINGTON ­– The Department of Defense is pleased to announce the 15 recipients of the 2024 Secretary of Defense Employer Support Freedom Award--the highest U.S. government honor to employers for support of National Guard and Reserve employees.

Learn More.
May 29, 2024Secretary of Defense appoints John F. Sampa as Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve National Chair

ARLINGTON, Va. –­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ Secretary of Defense Lloyd J. Austin III has appointed retired Command Sgt. Maj. John F. Sampa, as the National Chair for Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve. ESGR’s National Chair is an official Department of Defense volunteer position.

Learn More.
May 27, 2024In Memoriam Pennsylvania ESGR State Chair Emeritus George Duell

HORSHAM, Pa. – Pennsylvania Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR), an office of the Department of Defense, honors the memory of George H. Duell, Jr. who was the State Chair from 2001–2007

Learn More.