Skip to main content


Committee Leadership

Mr. Tom Simonet State Chair
VACANT State Vice Chair
Ms. Lois Robinson Region 1 Chair
Mr. Ron Lindgren Region 1 Co Chair
Mr. Fred Godec Region 2 Chair
Mr. Doug Broich Region 3 Chair
Mr. Chad Sackett Region 4 Chair
Mr. Doug Broich Region 5 Chair
Mr. Jim Kelzenberg Region 6 Chair
Mr. Dave Bambenek Region 7 Chair
Mr. Everett Doolittle Region 7 Co Chair
Mr. John Kingrey Region 7 Co Chair
Mr. Tom Haugo Region 7 Co Chair
Mr. Jim Finley Director, Employer Outreach
Mr. John Kingrey Director, Training
Mr. Mathew Meyer Director, Ombudsman
Vacant Asst. Director, Ombudsman
Mr. Jack Grams Director, Awards
Mr. Bob Boone Boss Lift Coordinator
Mr. Rich Kemp Director, Public Affairs
Mr. Bob Adams Asst. Director, Public Affairs
Ms. Jayne Maday-Hulke Volunteer Management Coordinator
Mr. Tom Haugo Director, Military Outreach


ESGR, a Department of Defense office, is comprised of dedicated and trained volunteers and staff. We will develop and promote employer support for Guard and Reserve service by advocating relevant initiatives, recognizing outstanding support, increasing awareness of applicable laws, and resolving conflict between employers and service members.


ESGR informs and educates service members and their civilian employers regarding their rights and responsibilities governed by the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 (USERRA). ESGR does not have statutory authority to enforce, but serves as a neutral, free resource to employers and service members. ESGR’s trained ombudsmen provide mediation of issues relating to compliance with USERRA.

Contact Information

Bruce Cherney Volunteer Support Technician Ben Franklin Center, Arden Hills Army Training Site 1536 Ben Franklin Dr., #103
Arden Hills MN 55112

Follow Minnesota at ..   


See All
July 31, 2022Allina Health St. Francis Medical Center supervisor receives Department of Defense Patriot Award

SHAKOPEE, Minn. – Minnesota National Guardsman Spc. Kerry Vohnoutka nominated his Emergency Room Nursing Supervisor, Erin Clark, to receive the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR) Patriot Award.

Learn More.
July 29, 2022Osseo School District 279 supervisors honored with Department of Defense Patriot Awards

OSSEO, Minn. – Minnesota Army National Guard Spc. Taylor Councilman presented to Lisa Sjogren, a coordinator of instructional support, and Kim Haugo, a library media specialist, the ESGR Patriot Award. Sjogren and Haugo were nominated by Councilman, who is also an educational support professional with Osseo School District 279. 

Learn More.
July 20, 2022Roers supervisor honored with Department of Defense Patriot Award

PLYMOUTH, Minn. – United States Navy Reservist Petty Officer 2nd Class Chelsea Kunzler nominated her commercial development real estate firm supervisor, Jamie Luehrs, to receive the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR) Patriot Award.

Learn More.