Skip to main content


Committee Leadership

Ms. Laurie Silvey State Chair
Mr. Mike Holub  State Vice Chair
Mr. Scott Klein Employer Outreach Director
Mr. Brian Gilligan Employer Outreach Director
Mr. Ron Bacci Military Outreach Director
Ms. Amy Malina Public Affairs Director
Mr. Dave MacDonna Training Director
Mr. John Orfe Ombudsman Director
Mr. Bill Glynn Asst. Ombudsman Director
Ms. Tammy Peters Awards Director
Ms. Jackie Barth Awards Director
Mr. Tim Franklin Volunteer Coordinator
Vacant Northwest Area Chair
Mr. Doug Wallace Northeast Area Chair
Mr. Mike Greco North Central Area Chair
Mr. Mike McCarthy Central West North Area Chair
Mr. Loren Easter Central West Area Chair 
Vacant Central East Area Chair
Mr. Rich Wuthrich South West Area Chair
Ms. Julie Campbell South East Area Chair
Mr. Bob Nachman Chicago Metro Area Chair

Illinois Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve is one of 54 ESGR State Committees nationwide working with a common purpose - to promote a culture in which all American employers support and value the military service of their employees who also serve in the National Guard and Reserve.

Illinois ESGR works through a network of dedicated volunteers throughout the state who carry out this mission. Our volunteers conduct employer outreach programs, including informational briefings and events, neutral mediation and recognition of employers whose policies support or encourage military service. We also work to inform and educate thousands of Reserve Component members regarding their rights and responsibilities under the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) and ways to develop and maintain a good relationship their employer.

Contact Information

John Stewart Volunteer Support Technician Contractor 1301 North MacArthur Blvd.
Springfield IL 62702

CPT William Yakes Program Coordinator 1301 North MacArthur Blvd
Springfield IL 62701

Follow Illinois at ..


See All
May 29, 2024Secretary of Defense appoints John F. Sampa as Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve National Chair

ARLINGTON, Va. –­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ Secretary of Defense Lloyd J. Austin III has appointed retired Command Sgt. Maj. John F. Sampa, as the National Chair for Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve. ESGR’s National Chair is an official Department of Defense volunteer position.

Learn More.
May 27, 2024In Memoriam Pennsylvania ESGR State Chair Emeritus George Duell

HORSHAM, Pa. – Pennsylvania Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR), an office of the Department of Defense, honors the memory of George H. Duell, Jr. who was the State Chair from 2001–2007

Learn More.
April 17, 2024Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve Announces 2023 Volunteers of Year

ALEXANDRIA, Va. (April 17, 2024) –­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve proudly announces the 2023 Volunteers of the Year (VOTY). Volunteers who serve in following functional and operational areas were nominated by their respective State Committee for the prestigious honor of being named Volunteer of the Year: Military Outreach, Employer Outreach, Public Affairs, Training, Ombudsman, and Operations.

Learn More.